Council Awards and Recognition

Bob Billington and the Blackstone Valley Tourism Council have received a number of awards and other recognition for their efforts to build up the Blackstone Valley and promote sustainable tourism. These include:

  • Bob Billington induction into the Rhode Island Heritage Hall of Fame (2016)
  • Blackstone Valley Tourism Council, Star of the Industry Award, Rhode Island
    Hospitality Association (2016)
  • Tourism for Tomorrow Destination Award, World Travel and Tourism Council (2008)
  • North American Travel Personality of the Year, World Travel Award (2008)
  • Keep America Beautiful Standards of Excellence Award (2008)
  • Tom Roberts Prize for Creative Achievement, Rhode Island Council for the Humanities (2008)
  • Pawtucket Foundation Heritage Award (2008)
  • “Stars of the Industry” Mary Brennan Award Rhode Island Hospitality
    Association (2008)
  • SBEST Certification of Excellence, United Nations World Tourism Organization (2007)
  • Business of the Year, Columbian-American Cultural Society (2007)
  • Ulysses Award from the United Nations World Tourism Organization for Destination Management (2006)
  • Coastal American Partnership for Action – Lonsdale Wetlands Restoration (2005)
  • Environmental Achievement Award Public/Private Initiative (2001)
  • NECTA Preservation Service Award Government at Work – Building a Bikeway (2000)
  • National Park Foundation Environmental Conservation Award (2000)
  • National Park Foundation Partnership Award (2000)
  • Bravo Film Channel NECTA Award (2000)
  • Community Partners Recognition Award, Yankee Magazine (1999)
  • Rhode Island Coastal Cleanup Institutional Award (1999)
  • Blackstone Valley Explorer, Yankee Magazine Editor’s Pick (1999)
  • Distinguished Citizen Award, Cumberland Business Association (1999)
  • Audubon Society of Rhode Island, Organization of the Year (1998)
  • Save the Bay Environmental Achievement Award (1997)
  • American Society of Landscape Architects Honor Award (1997)
  • National Trust for Historic Preservation (1996)
  • New England Foundation for the Arts Cultural Programs Honor (1996)
  • Society of American Travel Writers Phoenix Award (1995)
  • Cumberland Company Champions Award (1990)
  • American Academy of Hospitality Science Five Star Diamond Award